Construction Concerns: Types of Construction

By Gregory Havel National Fire Protection Association (NFPA) 220, Standard on Types of Building Construction, 2012 Edition, classifies buildings according to the fire resistive characteristics of the construction materials and methods used with the following: Type I: (fire resistive). Type II: (non-combustible). Type III: (ordinary, or brick and joist). Type IV: (heavy timber). Type V: (wood frame). Types I, II, III, and V are each subdivided into two subtypes according to the relative fire resistance of their materials and methods. These subtypes correspond to the “protected” and “unprotected” classifications used in building codes and in the older versions of the National Fire Incide...

To access this articles and others like, join the Fire Engineering Training Network today.

  Gain unlimited access to the most comprehensive database of firefighter training info in the world.

  Membership in the Fire Engineering Training Network includes:

  • Exclusive Online Access to News & Articles
  • Fire Engineering Magazine Historical Archives (Online-Only)
  • Annual Print Subscription to Fire Engineering Magazine
  • Annual Digital Subscription to Fire Engineering Magazine

Join Now

 Already a member? Scroll down to the Login form below to access this article.


FE Logo

Log into Fire Engineering and you'll have total access to the industry's leading online resource for finest training simulations, articles, instructional videos and much more.