Issue 5 and Volume 38.

CROTON AQUEDUCT COMMISSION. John F. Cowan, the Tammany leader in the south side of the Thirty-fourth assembly district, has been elected president of the board of Croton Aqueduct Commissioners, in the place of William H. Ten Eyck. Mayor McClellan and Deputy Coniptroler Stevenson were present and voted for him. It always has been customary to elect as president of the board a commissioner of the same political faith as the administration. For this reason President Ten Eyck, a Republican, voluntarily gave up the chair. When Mayor McClellan assumed office, the commission was under investigation, and for that reason its officers were unchanged until the investigation was at an end. Mr. Cowan was appointed a commissioner two months ago to succeed W. E. Curtis. J. Waldo Smith, who for several months has been chief engineer of the hoard, also resigned, with the recommendation that Walter H. Sears, a division engineer, have…

Subscribe to unlock this content

Subscribe Now