A Lambertville Fire Company.

Issue 17 and Volume 45.

A Lambertville Fire Company. The Union fire engine company is the oldest in Lambertville, N. J. It was first organised on July 2, 1821, as the Union, by forty-four private citizens in the house of Johnson Barber. The constitution bound every officer and man to do his duty. Any officer who was negligent in that respect or absent from fire or rollcall was fined twenty-five cents; every fireman who so defaulted, twelve cents. The list of the first officers elected is as follows : President, Samuel Stryker ; vicepresident, Amasa Ely; secretary, Albert D. Wilcox; treasurer, James Sea brook; engineers, Philip Marshall. Jacob B. Smith, Jacob Chamberlin, John Chamberlin, Johnson Barber, Morris Mathews, Alexander Coryell, Burrows Hunt, Hiram Saum, Asa Wilson, William Yerkcs and Thomas Thompson. Many of the descendants of these men now reside in LambertviUe. At this time $27 was collected to build a house and a site…

Subscribe to unlock this content

Subscribe Now