Issue 1 and Volume 58.

MELBOURNE FIRE BRIGADE REPORT The report of the Metropolitan Fire Brgades Board of Melbourne, Australia, covering the year ending December 31, 1914, has been isused. The municipalities within the Metropolitan first district are the cities of Melbourne, Prahan, South Melbounre, Fitzroy, Richmond, St. Kilda, Hawthorn, Collingwood, Brunswick, Footscray, Essendon, Malvern, Caulfield, Northcote, towns of Brighton, Williamstown, Port Melbourne, Camberwell, Kew, Boroughs of Oakleigh and Coburg, shires of Heidelberg, Preston, Moorabin, Nunawading, Braybrook, Werribee, Broadmeadows, Keilor, Doncaster, Mulgrave and Templestowe. Hy. de C. Kellett is president of the board and the chief officer of the Metropolitan fire brigade is Harrie B. Lee. Chief Officer Lee in his report states: “The number of fires attended during the term under review constitutes a record for the past 23 years. Notwithstanding this fact, the actual loss can fairly be described as comparatively small. This satisfactory condition of things is mainly due to three causes:…

Subscribe to unlock this content

Subscribe Now