Six-County Firemen’s Convention

Issue 24 and Volume 69.

Six-County Firemen’s Convention The annual convention of the Six-County Firemen’s Association of the State of Pennsylvania, which includes the counties of Columbia, Lackawanna, Luzerne, Schuylkill, Montour and Northumberland, will be held at Dunmore on June 21 to 24. The present officers of the association are: President, H. J. Wittich, Tamaqua, Pa.; Secretary, Fred Zeiser, Shantokin; and Treasurer, William T. Cullen, Pottsville. More than two hundred companies, representing 20,000 firemen, are affiliated with the association, and, according to Secretary Zeiser, there will be at the opening of the convention about 15,000 insured members. an increase of 300 over last year. The association was organized at Hazleton. June 3. 1904. as a four-county association. In 1906 Montour and Northumberland were admitted, making it a six-county association. In 1913 and 1914 a death benefit fund was established, starting out with thirty members and. as before stated, the roll will show some 1,500 or…

Subscribe to unlock this content

Subscribe Now