New York Firemen Receive Medals

Issue 23 and Volume 73.

New York Firemen Receive Medals Medals were presented to members of the fire department of New York City on Saturday, May 26, as part of the silver jubilee celebration of the city by the board of merit, of which Deputy Commissioner Joseph M. Hannon is chairman. The board is composed of the following members: Deputy Commissioner William F. Thompson, Chief John Kenlon, Assistant Chief Joseph B. Martin, Deputy Chief John O’Hara, Deputy Chief Patrick Maher, Deputy Chief Thomas R. Langford, Deputy Chief John F. King, and Deputy Chief James W. Heffernan and Daniel D. Gallagher is secretary of the board of merit. It presented 12 of these medals for unusual valor, one for exemplary discipline, one for progressive administration and fifteen to the members of the fire company performing the fastest evolutions in the company school. The presentation took place at the reviewing stand and was by Mayor John F.…

Subscribe to unlock this content

Subscribe Now