Massachusetts State Firemen’s Convention

Issue 13 and Volume 76.

Massachusetts State Firemen’s Convention At the 45th annual convention of the Massachusetts State Firemen’s Association, held in Brockton. Mass., September 16, 17 and 18, Chief William C. Mahoney, of the Peabody Fire Department, was elected president of the association after Chief William F. Daley, of Brockton, had declined to accept the honor. Chief Mahoney, who was first vicepresident, succeeds Chief F. J. Morris, of Lawrence, as head of the association. Other officers were chosen as follows: Capt. Fred M. Gibson, of Lawrence, first vice-president; Chief William Hill, of Belmont, second vice-president; Daniel J. Looney, of Boston, secretary, and Joseph Manning of Milton, treasurer. There was a large attendance of firemen at the convention. The address of welcome was delivered in Eagle hall by Mayor William A. Bullivant, who praised the efficiency of the Brockton fire department under leadership of Chief Daley. Among the speakers were Fire Commissioner Theodore A. Glynn,…

Subscribe to unlock this content

Subscribe Now