Cape Cod Towns Form Alliance

Issue 1 and Volume 80.

Cape Cod Towns Form Alliance Seven towns in the Cape Cod section of Massachusetts are forming a permanent mutual aid organization whereby, in case of need, other departments of the association may be called upon for assistance. At the initial meeting there were thirty representatives from nearby towns, and the meeting was in charge of Chief Ray D. Wells of Falmouth, Mass. The towns that may be in the compact are Centerville, Onset, Bourne, Falmouth, Cotuit, Osterville and Hyannis. In the event of a fire reaching such proportions that it could not be fought with the equipment at hand, the member department nearest to the fire could be called. The idea is an outgrowth of the Cape Cod Forestry Association in order to protect the large timber lands in the district. Falmouth, the town in which the organization meeting was held, has appropriated $91,000 that will be spent the coming…

Subscribe to unlock this content

Subscribe Now