Maine Chiefs Honor C. O. Spear, Jr.

Issue 11 and Volume 86.

Maine Chiefs Honor C. O. Spear, Jr. At the annual meeting of the State of Maine Fire Chiefs’ Association held in Hallowed on October 14, Chief Charles O. Spear, Jr., of South Portland, was elected President. Solomon Mercier, of Rumford, was chosen Vice-President, and Charles Bowker, of South Portland, was elected Secretary-Treasurer. The session was held in the Central hire Station. There were addresses of welcome by Mayor Campbell and Dr. Charles H. Bean, chairman of the Fire Department Committee of the city government. Other speakers were Chief Edward Hutchinson, of Boothbay Harbor; H. G. Gilson, of the Gilson Paper Company; Chief Eugene T. Ricker, of Biddeford, who spoke on “Handling Fires in Small Cities and Towns”; Chief Frank Lemar, of Gardiner, who discussed “Call Departments”; and Alfred N. Miner, of Boston, who spoke on “Arson.” There was a buffet luncheon served by the Hallowed Fire Department and in the…

Subscribe to unlock this content

Subscribe Now