Minnesota Firemen Meet

Issue 8 and Volume 90.

Minnesota Firemen Meet The sixty-fifth annual convention of the Minnesota State Fire Department Association was held at Crookston, Minn. Among the resolutions passed were ones urging the defeat of action which would collect iron ore taxes and reallocate the funds throughout the state; the defeat of action to change the firemen’s civil service laws; legislation to force insurance companies to segregate and properly allot two per cent tax on fire insurance policies to the proper fire departments, and a resolution commending the work of Chief Ross Schmidt, Crookston, the retiring President. Over 2,500 firemen were in the city for the three-day convention. John Thompson, Waden, was elected President; George Fish, Sauk Center, First Vice-President; Nels Fuist, Virginia, Second Vice-President; Fred Pfaender, New Ulm, Secretary; P. Pederson. Moorhead, Treasurer. The 1938 convention will be held at Waden and the 1939 gathering at Sauk Center.

Subscribe to unlock this content

Subscribe Now