N. Y. Fire-Police Group Formed

Issue 4 and Volume 107.

N. Y. Fire-Police Group Formed Over 200 volunteer firemen, serving their home communities as fire police, met in the Suffern Elementary School, Suffern, N. Y., Feb. 27th to form the Volunteer Fire Police Association of the State of New York. Since that meeting, paid-up membership has increased to 600, according to Capt. Wm. Paul Babcock, FIRE ENGINEERING’S informant. Former Fire Chief Charles H. Draudt, of Valley Cottage, and for the past five years President of the Rockland County Fire Police Association, who helped sparkplug the new group, was elected president. Henry Susemehl of Suffern was made first vice president; Ford Griffin of Monroe, second vice president; Ted Feldberg of Monticello, secretary, and Arthur Gifford of Blauvelt, treasurer. Directors named are: Alben Beatty, New Paltz; W. H. Hampf, Putnam; Arthur Nelson, Monsey; Jack Markowitz, Lynbrook; Wm. Neely, Nassau, and James Curtis of Croton-on-Hudson. The plan is to divide the state into…

Subscribe to unlock this content

Subscribe Now