Nixon Names 18 Members of Fire Commission

Issue 1 and Volume 124.

Nixon Names 18 Members of Fire Commission The 18 public members of the National Commission on Fire Prevention and Control have been named by President Nixon. In announcing the commission membership November 17, the President named as chairman David K. Wilson, president of the Cherokee Equity Corporation, Nashville, Tenn. W. Howard McClennan, president of the International Association of Fire Fighters, was designated vice chairman. In addition to the public members, the Fire Research and Safety Act gives membership to the secretary of commerce and the secretary of housing and urban development. The act also provides for the appointment of two members of the Senate and two members of the House of Representatives as advisory members. The other public members of the commission are Louis J. Amabili of Hockessin, Del., director of the Delaware State Fire School; Lieutenant Tommy Arevalo of the El Paso, Texas, Fire Department; Percy Bugbee, honorary chaiman…

Subscribe to unlock this content

Subscribe Now