Towns Get Fire Funds

Issue 10 and Volume 128.

Towns Get Fire Funds Thirty-eight Nebraska communities will receive Rural Community Fire Protection Program loans in 1975, under title IV of the 1972 Rural Development Act. The funds, administered by the state forester, University of Nebraska Department of Forestry, are granted on the condition that communities will match received funds for a complete project. Funds for the program were announced on April 22 and obligated by June 1. Available loans were 14 percent of the amount requested and five percent of project costs. Among the approved applicants are Merna, $972.95, and Wood River-Alda, $2158.50, for communications, protective clothing and equipment. Ansley-Berwyn will receive $1200, Berwyn will receive $50 and Dannebrog will receive $1224 for communications. Cairo will receive $6618 and Rockville $7544 for water systems.

Subscribe to unlock this content

Subscribe Now