Apparatus & Equipment, Fire Prevention & Protection, Tech Zone

Department of Homeland Security adopts NFPA standards for responders

The National Fire Protection Association (NFPA) and the U.S. Department of Homeland Security (DHS) announced the adoption of 11 NFPA standards for emergency responders by DHS. The newly adopted standards will set requirements to assist federal agencies and state and local officials responsible for procuring equipment and services used by emergency responders.

“It is enormously important that first responders have the tools and qualifications necessary to perform their duties well – their lives and the lives of others depend on it,” said James M. Shannon. “DHS has taken an important step in supporting the needs of first responders with the adoption of these standards.”

The documents adopted will provide direction and allow officials to make better procurement decisions in the following areas: professional qualifications, occupational safety and health, fire apparatus, personal protective clothing, powered rescue tools, and other equipment.

“The threat of fire in any home, school, or business is a reality. To expect first responders to run into the current all-hazard environment without training, equipment and the basic tools to do their jobs, is unacceptable,” said U.S. Fire Administrator Greg Cade. “These newly adopted standards by DHS further ensure communities have well-informed, well-trained, and well-equipped first responders, supported by manufacturers, and outside agencies dedicated to protecting the people of this nation.”

The 11 newly adopted standards are:

* NFPA 1000, Standard for Fire Service Professional Qualifications Accreditation and Certification Systems
* NFPA 1001, Standard for Fire Fighter Professional Qualifications
* NFPA 1002, Standard for Fire Apparatus Driver/Operator Professional Qualifications
* NFPA 1006, Standard for Rescue Technician Professional Qualifications
* NFPA 1021, Standard for Fire Officer Professional Qualifications
* NFPA 1500, Standard on Fire Department Occupational Safety and Health Program
* NFPA 1582, Standard on Comprehensive Occupational Medical Program for Fire Departments
* NFPA 1901, Standard for Automotive Fire Apparatus
* NFPA 1906, Standard for Wildland Fire Apparatus
* NFPA 1912, Standard for Fire Apparatus Refurbishing
* NFPA 1936, Standard on Powered Rescue Tools

The adoption of NFPA standards reflect the continuing support of a multi-year program in U.S. Department of Homeland Security’s Science and Technology Directorate to build confidence in homeland security technologies, products, services, and personnel through the development and adoption of voluntary consensus standards. A list of the standards can be found on the Department of Homeland Security’s Web site
( and the Responder Knowledge Base ( The standards documents are available from the National Fire Protection Association ( and from the American National Standards Institute (

DHS previously adopted 14 NFPA standards that remain in use today. They are:

* NFPA 1600, Standard on Disaster/Emergency Management and Business Continuity Programs
* NFPA 1851, Standard on Selection, Care and Maintenance of Structural Fire Fighting Protective Ensembles
* NFPA 1852, Standard on Selection, Care, and Maintenance of Open-Circuit Self-Contained Breathing Apparatus (SCBA)
* NFPA 1951, Standard on Protective Ensembles for Technical Rescue Operations
* NFPA 1971, Standard on Protective Ensembles for Structural Fire Fighting and Proximity Fire Fighting
* NFPA 1975, Standard on Station/Work Uniforms for Fire and Emergency Services
* NFPA 1981, Standard on Open-Circuit Self-Contained Breathing Apparatus
(SCBA) for Emergency Services
* NFPA 1982, Standard on Personal Alert Safety Systems (PASS)
* NFPA 1991, Standard on Vapor-Protective Ensembles for Hazardous Materials Emergencies
* NFPA 1992, Standard on Liquid Splash-Protective Ensembles and Clothing for Hazardous Materials Emergencies
* NFPA 1994, Standard on Protective Ensembles for First Responders to CBRN Terrorism Incidents
* NFPA 1999, Standard on Protective Clothing for Emergency Medical Operations
* NFPA 2112, Standard on Flame-Resistant Garments for Protection of Industrial Personnel against Flash Fire
* NFPA 2113, Standard on Selection, Care, Use, and Maintenance of Flame-Resistant Garments for Protection of Industrial Personnel against Flash Fire

All NFPA safety codes and standards are developed through a process accredited by the American National Standards Institute (ANSI). The 200 technical committees responsible for developing and updating all 300 codes and standards include 6,000 volunteers, representing enforcing authorities, installers and maintainers , labor, research and testing laboratories, insurers, special experts, consumers and other users.

The U.S. Department of Homeland Security’s Science and Technology Directorate serves as the primary research and development arm of the Department, utilizing our nation’s scientific and technological resources to provide federal, state and local officials with the technology and capabilities to protect the homeland.

NFPA has been a worldwide leader in providing fire, electrical, building, and life safety to the public since 1896. The mission of the international nonprofit organization is to reduce the worldwide burden of fire and other hazards on the quality of life by providing and advocating consensus codes and standards, research, training, and education. Visit NFPA’s Web site at