Fire Prevention & Protection, Firefighter Training

ICC Members Elect 2011-2012 Board Officers, Directors

International Code Council Members elected board officers and directors during the Council’s 2011 Annual Conference in November in Phoenix.

William (Bill) Dupler, Deputy County Administrator for Community Development for Chesterfield County, Va., was elected President.

Ronald E. Piester, AIA, Director of the New York Department of State Division of Code Enforcement and Administration, was elected Vice President. Stephen Jones, C.B.O., Construction Official for Millburn Township and the Borough of Florham Park, N.J., was elected Secretary/Treasurer.

Patrick Parsley, Building Official for Fairmont, Minn., and Ravi Shah, Assoc. AIA, C.B.O., Director of Development Services for Carrollton, Texas, were re-elected as Directors at Large. Robert G. Boyer, Code Product and Training Coordinator for the Palm Beach County Planning, Zoning and Building Department, and Robert Drexler, Fire Marshal for Greece, N.Y., were elected to their first terms as Directors at Large.

Jay Elbettar, Building Official for Mission Viejo, Calif., and Richard C. Truitt Sr., Harford (Md.) County Deputy Code Director, were elected to their first terms as Section Directors.

Through public/private sector collaboration, the Code Council provides support to government by developing codes that allow for safe and sustainable construction. As a result, government does not take on the high cost of developing its own codes and benefits from code uniformity that encourages local, affordable construction growth.

“Our Directors devote a lot of time and energy to volunteer for the International Code Council Board,” said International Code Council CEO Richard P. Weiland. “They could not serve on the board without the support of the jurisdictions they work for. We thank the Board members and their employers for their dedication to pursuing the goal of building safety and fire prevention.”

President Dupler manages the operations of six county departments that form the Community Development Division. He has been extensively involved in code development as well as in increasing the profile of Building Safety Professionals at the local, state and national level. Dupler has served on the Code Council Board for seven years as a Director, Secretary/Treasurer and Vice President.

Vice President Piester, a Certified Code Enforcement Official and Professional Code Administrator, manages a 60-person division that administers and enforces New York’s Uniform Fire Prevention and Building Code and State Energy Conservation Construction Code. He has served on the Code Council Board for six years as a Director and Secretary/Treasurer.

Secretary/Treasurer Jones, as Construction Official for Millburn Township and the Borough of Florham Park, N.J., is responsible for the daily operations of the departments, strategic and long-term planning, and supervises a zoning official and code enforcement officer. A Certified Building Official, Jones has more than 20 years of industry experience. Jones has served on the Code Council Board for four years as a Director.

Six Elected as Board Directors:

Director Parsley was the founder of the Council’s Region III Chapter that supports building safety professionals in Iowa, Minnesota, North Dakota, South Dakota and Wisconsin. He is a Minnesota Certified Building Official, Certified Plans Examiner and Certified Building Official. He was named “Minnesota Code Official of the Year” in 1998 and received the Herb Meyer Award from the 10,000 Lakes Chapter.

Director Shah manages all of the city of Carrollton’s Planning, Building Inspection and Transit-Oriented Development. Shah was appointed to the Texas Commission of Licensing and Regulations, and served as Vice Chair to the Texas Industrialized Building Code Council. He was named “Building Official of the Year” by the University of Texas at Arlington Construction Research Center.

Director Boyer monitors impending code changes, and reviews and recommends acceptable proposals for alternative construction materials and methods for compliance with the county’s building codes. He also assists with training and professional development of Building Division employees.

Director Drexler serves as a liaison between the town and its four Fire Districts with responsibility to provide the town’s fire prevention program. He assists in investigating the cause, origin, and circumstances of fires involving injury, loss of life or substantial property damage. He also provides leadership to assistant fire marshals and building inspectors on code enforcement including fire safety enforcement, education, inspections and plan review. He is Co-Chair of the New York State Code Coalition to Protect and Preserve Our Communities. Drexler is the Monroe County Fire Marshals Association Delegate to the New York State Building Officials Conference.

Director Elbettar manages the Mission Viejo Building Division through Charles Abbott Associates, including plan check, inspections, counter operations and permit issuance. He was the recipient of the Council’s 2010 Gerald E. Jones Code Official of the Year award. Elected as a Section Director, the section includes Alaska, California, Hawaii, Nevada, Oregon, Washington and British Columbia.

Director Truitt helps administer Harford County programs for issuing, maintaining and controlling of licenses and permits required by the county. Elected as a Section Director, the section includes Connecticut, Delaware, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New York, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, Vermont, Virginia, Washington, D.C., West Virginia, New Brunswick, Newfoundland, Nova Scotia, Prince Edward Island and Quebec.

ICC Board members not standing for election this year are: James L. Brothers Immediate ICC Board Past President, Alabama Residential and Energy Codes Board, Alabama Department of Economic and Community Affairs; and Directors Gregori S. Anderson, C.B.O., Director of Building Safety and Regulatory Services Department of Building Safety and Regulatory Services, Chatham County, Savannah, Ga.; M. Dwayne Garriss, Georgia State Fire Marshal; Ron Hoover, C.B.O., MCP, Director, Marion, Iowa., Building Inspection Department and Fire Chief for the City of Alburnett, Iowa.; John “Jack” Leyden, C.B.O., Rhode Island State Building Code Commissioner; Alex “Cash” Olszowy, Building Inspector Supervisor, Lexington Fayette Urban County (Ky.) Government; Tina Rakes, Building Official, Baldwin City, Kan.; Guy Tomberlin, C.B.O., Code Specialist, Land Development Services, Fairfax County, Va.; and Jeff Whitney, C.B.O., Building Official, Grand County, Moab, Utah.