Firefighter Training, Firefighting, Leadership

Indianapolis Fire Chief Brian Sanford Honored with ‘Sagamore of the Wabash’ Award

Indianapolis Fire Chief Brian Sanford Honored with 'Sagamore of the Wabash' Award 08/11/2014

Indianapolis (IN) Fire Chief Brian Sanford was honored with the highest honor the Governor of Indiana can bestow, the “Sagamore of the Wabash” award.

Jeff Cardwell, Special Assistant to Governor Mike Pence, and State Representative Cindy Kirchhofer presented the award to  Sanford this evening during a command staff dinner held in Chief Sanford’s honor. Sanford was praised by Cardwell for his leadership, commitment, and dedication to the citizen’s he has served for over 30 years as a firefighter. His outreach as chief of Indianapolis Fire Department (IFD) extends far beyond the boundaries of Marion County and has kept the IFD a national leader in the fire service for health, wellness, safety, and training initiatives.

Tonight’s event, formally called a “Hail and Farewell” dinner, is traditionally attended by the chief’s command staff and held the evening before a change of command is to take place. Today, Sanford will officially relinquish his command as Chief of IFD and Ernest V. Malone will take the oath as the 42nd Chief of the IFD. The Change of Command Ceremony is being held at the Indiana War Memorial located at 431 N Meridian St. Sanford will be taking the position of Chief of Staff for the Department of Public Safety.

Jeff Cardwell, former member of the City County Council, a longtime supporter of Public Safety, spoke highly of Chief Sanford’s efforts to engage and better the community while serving as Chief of IFD. Cindy Kirchhofer is the State Representative for House District 89 which serves the area that Chief Sanford and his family live.

The Sagamore of the Wabash is an honorary award created by the State of Indiana during the term of then Governor Ralph F. Gates circa 1945-1949. It is given to a person who has shown “Humanity in Living, Loyalty in Friendship, Wisdom in Council and Inspiration in Leadership.” It is considered a personal tribute given to those who have rendered a distinguished service to the state or to the governor.