Firefighting, Leadership

Deadline Approaching for National Fire Service Leadership Award Nominations

The deadline for submitting nominations for both the CFSI/Motorola Solutions Mason Lankford Fire Service Leadership Award and the CFSI/NFFF Senator Paul S. Sarbanes Fire Service Safety Leader Award isFriday, February 27th. All nominations must be submitted to CFSI by mail or electronically by the close of business.

The CFSI/Motorola Solutions Mason Lankford Fire Service Leadership Award recognizes individuals who have been proactive at the local, state, or federal government level to improve fire/emergency services and life safety issues. The award was established in 1998 and has recognized many of our nation’s leading fire service advocates for their dedication to the health and safety of all firefighters and emergency services personnel.  

The award is named in honor of the late-J. Mason Lankford from the state of Texas. A tireless advocate for the fire service at the state and national level, Lankford was a key figure in the formation of the Congressional Fire Services Caucus and Congressional Fire Services Institute (CFSI). He understood the importance of building positive working relationships with members of Congress to address the needs of our nation’s fire service. His legacy resonates in the spirit of the award.

The CFSI/NFFF Senator Paul S. Sarbanes Fire Service Safety Leadership Award recognizes organizations for their outstanding contributions to firefighter health and safety. It is named in honor of former Senator Paul Sarbanes of Maryland who retired from the U.S. Senate in 2006 following a distinguished 36-year career in Congress.The award embodies the goals of both CFSI and the National Fallen Firefighters Foundation (NFFF) to ensure that EVERYONE GOES HOME at the end of every call. State Farm Insurance and VFIS serve as corporate co-sponsors of the awards program.

The awards presentations will take place on April 16th at the 27th Annual National Fire and Emergency Services Dinner in Washington, DC. The dinner program will include two additional award presentations (the CFSI/IFSTA at OSU Dr. Anne W. Phillips Award for Leadership in Fire Safety Education and the CFSI/Masimo Excellence in Fire Service-Based EMS Award) and remarks by some of the leading political figures in Washington, DC. It is the culmination of a two-day event attended by over 2,000 national fire and emergency services officials who will participate in seminars covering a broad range of federal topics and visit with their members of Congress to discuss fire service issues.

Please visit for additional information about the National Fire and Emergency Services Symposium/27th Annual National Fire and Emergency Services Dinner.