Hall of Legends Inductions at FDIC International

The mission of the National Fire Heritage Center (NFHC) is to preserve the perishable history of the fire services and fire protection disciplines. The Hall of Legends, Legacies, and Leaders (HLLL) helps fulfill that mission by providing recognition to the individuals who have made significant contributions and have distinguished themselves in the service of fire and emergency services and fire protection disciplines and who have become known/recognized in the national and or international fire service arena.

Now in its 11th year, the 2021 HLLL inductees are the largest class with 21 outstanding individuals, the second class to include a woman, and the largest number of living inductees. The HLLL Committee determined the following individuals met all the criteria to be inducted into the National Fire Heritage Center’s Hall of Legends, Legacies and Leaders:


Dr. Harry Carter

James Dalton

Dr. Christopher Frasier

Paul Hannemann

Joseph Starnes

Lee Starrick Sr.


Anthony C. Apfelbeck

Donald P. Bliss

Ricky N. Brockman

David Casey

Dr. Burton Clark

Jim Crawford

I. David Daniels

Larry Davis

Dr. Paul O. Davis

M. H. Estepp

Michael Hildebrand

Dr. Carl G. Holmes

Rhoda Mae Kerr

John Leahy

Garrett Augustus Morgan

Don Oliver

Ernst R. Piercy

Charles Rule

Bruce Varner

Charles Werner

Warren Whitley

“Preserving the Perishable”

As an IRS 501c3 non-profit organization, the National Fire Heritage Center exists to preserve, protect and

increase the utilization of contributors to the body of knowledge of the American Fire Protection Services

and allied disciplines through identification, acquisition, preservation, conservation and restoration.

No posts to display