International Code Council elects directors, officers

The International Code Council elected its 2007-2008 Board of Directors and officers at the organization’s recent Annual Conference.

“Our Directors devote a lot time and energy to volunteer for the International Code Council Board,” said International Code Council CEO Rick Weiland. “They could not serve on the board without the support of the jurisdictions they work for. We thank the Board members and their employers for their dedication to pursuing the goal of building safety and fire prevention.”

Members elected Steve Shapiro President of the International Code Council Board. Shapiro is the Director of Codes Compliance for Hampton, Va. First elected to the Board of Directors in 2000, Shapiro most recently served as Vice President. He is a certified building official and has been involved in code enforcement for 29 years.

The International Code Council’s new Vice President is Adolf Zubia, Fire Chief for Las Cruces, N.M. A 20-year veteran of the fire service, Zubia was first elected to the Code Council Board in 2003 and previously served as Secretary/Treasurer. He is Chair of the Fire and Life Safety Section of the International Association of Fire Chiefs and Immediate Past President of the New Mexico Fire Chiefs Association.

Ron Lynn, Building Official and Director of Development Services for Clark County, Nev., was elected Secretary/Treasurer of the International Code Council Board. Lynn has been employed by Clark County for 23 years in code enforcement, administration and management. He is chairman of the Nevada Organization of Building Officials and the Nevada Earthquake Safety Council. First elected to the Code Council Board in 2004, Lynn previously served as a Director.

Board members William Dupler, Barbara Koffron and Doug Murdock were reelected to serve three-year terms as Directors. Dupler is Director of Building Inspections for Chesterfield County, Va. Koffron is Fire Marshal of the Phoenix, Ariz., Fire Department. Murdock is Director of Building Inspections for the city of Gainesville, Fla.
International Code Council members also elected two new representatives to the Board of Directors to serve three-year terms, Stephen Jones and Jeff Whitney. Jones is Construction Official for Millburn Township and the Borough of Florham Park, N.J., and Whitney is Chief Building Official for Grand County, Utah.

The International Code Council Board of Directors also includes: Gregori Anderson, Director of Building Safety and Regulatory Services for Chatham County, Ga.; Jimmy Brothers, Building Director for Decatur, Ala.; Terry Cobb, C.B.O., Director of the Department of Codes Administration for Nashville/Davidson County; John Darnall, C.B.O., Assistant Director of Development Services in Tumwater, Wash.; Gerry George, C.B.O., Chief Building Official for Golden, Colo.; Greg Johnson, Building Inspector for St. Paul, Minn.; and John LaTorra, Building and Inspection Manager for Redwood City, Calif.; Ron Piester, Director of the New York State Department of State Division of Code Enforcement and Administration; and Tim Ryan, Codes Administrator for the city of Overland Park, Kan. Wally Bailey, Director of Development and Construction for the city of Fort Smith, Ark., becomes the Board of Directors Immediate Past President.

The International Code Council, a membership association dedicated to building safety and fire prevention, develops the codes used to construct residential and commercial buildings, including homes and schools. Most U.S. cities, counties and states that adopt codes choose the International Codes developed by the International Code Council.

No posts to display