NFPA announces recipients of 2001 Jablonsky, Gratz scholarships

Quincy, MA, – Erica D. Kuligowski of the University of Maryland and Junmei Li of the Hong Kong Polytechnic University have been selected as this year’s recipients of the National Fire Protection Association’s (NFPA) Fire Safety Educational Memorial Fund’s John L. Jablonsky and David B. Gratz scholarships, respectively.

The Fire Safety Educational Memorial Fund Committee, appointed by NFPA’s board of directors, selects scholarship recipients annually based on achievement, leadership, volunteerism, and intention to pursue a career in fire science/fire safety engineering. NFPA scholarships are available to graduate students in fire service programs worldwide.

Established through contributions made by friends and family, the John L. Jablonsky scholarship, in the amount of $2,500, is awarded to a graduate student in the United States enrolled in a fire protection engineering program. Jablonsky served as a member of NFPA’s board of directors and was chair of the Standards Council until his death in 1992. He was also the 1987 recipient of the Paul C. Lamb Award, which honors NFPA members whose service characterizes the height of voluntary spirit and deed.

The David B. Gratz scholarship was established at NFPA’s 100th annual meeting to recognize the international diversity and the worldwide development of fire science and fire engineering graduate programs. The scholarship, in the amount of $5,000, bears the name of Chief David B. Gratz, former chief of the Silver Springs (MD) Fire Department and NFPA’s first executive director for international operations, who served the NFPA for more than 20 years. A former member of the NFPA board of directors, Gratz initiated the fire service program at Montgomery College, Montgomery County, Maryland. The deadline for both the Jablonsky and Gratz scholarship applications is May 1.

In addition, hazardous materials response teams seeking specialized training are eligible for the Warren E. Isman scholarship. The deadline for applications for this scholarship is September 15, 2001.

Applications for NFPA scholarships and contributions to the Fire Safety Educational Memorial Fund should be sent to: NFPA Fire Safety Memorial Education Fund, Attention: Kathie Odermatt, 1 Batterymarch Park, P.O. Box 9101, Quincy, MA 02269-9101, 617-984-7254.

Contributions to the Fire Safety Educational Memorial Fund also support four additional scholarships distributed to fire service graduate students at Worcester Polytechnic Institute, Quincy College, the University of Maryland, and Oklahoma State University. Scholarship recipients are selected by the individual educational facility.

No posts to display