Canty Heads Connecticut Firemen

Canty Heads Connecticut Firemen

William J. Canty, fire commissioner of the Burrville, Conn., Volunteer Fire Department, was elected president of the Connecticut State Firemen’s Association at the 75th annual convention held in Bridgeport on August 23. Over 450 were in attendance.

Patrick M. Sherwin (left) retiring president of the Connecticut State Firemen's Association, presents gavel of office to William J. Canty, incoming president

Commissioner Canty succeeds Patrick M. Sherwin of Bridgeport. Others named to office were Frank Burns of Hartford, state vice-president; John Moehring, Stamford, secretary, and Andrew J. Flanagan, of New Haven, treasurer. The Reverend Michael J. Thompson, pastor of St. Agnes’ church, Niantic, was renamed chaplin.

County vice-presidents elected were: Litchfield—John Gibb, Terryville; Hartford—Bernard Fitzsimons, Bristol; Tolland — Benjamin Muzio, Staffordville; Windham—Chief James Elliott, Thompson; Fairfield—James McDermott, Danbury; New Haven—John Northrup, Milford; Middlesex — Chief J. Franklyn Dunn, Middletown, and New London— Chief Carl Sawyer, Poquonock Bridge.

Captain Carroll Shaw, commanding officer of the Fire Marshal’s division of the State Police Department, was the principal speaker at the one-day session, his subject being the sprinkler law for nursing homes.

“The state will have regulations on a state level making it mandatory for nursing homes, boarding homes for the aged, convalescent homes and hospitals of combustible construction to have installed in each of their buildings an approved system of automatic sprinklers,” Captain Shaw told the delegates.

“The amended regulations. Captain Shaw further said, “also will say that no longer can anybody go out and buy an old broken down mansion or warehouse fire trap and convert it into a place to house our old people.”

Mayor Jasper McLevy and Fire Chief Sylvester E. Jennings also addressed the delegates. The 1958 convention will be held in Waterburv.

No posts to display