Chief Dennis Compton Selected as Recipient of CFSI/Motorola Leadership Award

Washington, D.C. – Chief Dennis Compton of Mesa, Arizona was recently selected by the Congressional Fire Services Institute Board of Directors as the recipient of the 2003 CFSI/Motorola Mason Lankford Fire Service Leadership Award. The presentation will take place at the 15th Annual National Fire and Emergency Services Dinner on April 30, 2003 at the Washington Hilton and Towers.

Active both nationally and at the state level, Chief Compton serves on the executive board of the International Fire Service Training Association, as a board member of the National Fire Protection Association and immediate past chair of the CFSI National Advisory Committee. Chief Compton retired last year as Chief of the Mesa Fire Department. He has served for over 32 years in the fire service — 27 years with the Phoenix Fire Department and five years as the Mesa chief. In recognition for his contributions in the state of Arizona, he was selected a charter member of the Arizona Fire Service Hall of Fame.

Named after the late-J. Mason Lankford, Jr., and sponsored by CFSI and Motorola, Inc., the award recognizes an individual who has been proactive at the local, state or federal government level to raise the level of awareness and support of fire/emergency services and life safety issues. Lankford was a catalyst in the formation of the Congressional Fire Services Institute and Congressional Fire Services Caucus, founded by Congressman Curt Weldon in 1987.

“This is a very unique award,” said William Jenaway, CFSI President. “Whereas there are various awards presented for extraordinary actions of valor, this award is about recognizing individuals for improving the fire and emergency services through building coalitions and partnerships. I cannot think of anyone more deserving of this award than Chief Compton.”

No posts to display