Chief Keith Bryant Sworn in as IAFC President

The International Association of Fire Chiefs (IAFC) has installed Chief G. Keith Bryant, fire chief of Oklahoma City (OK) Fire Department, as president and chairman of the board for 2014-2015. He was sworn in at the general session of Fire-Rescue International (FRI) in Dallas.

Chief Bryant will lead the association’s 18-member board of directors; he will serve as the association’s primary spokesman on national and international issues, testify on behalf of the organization at Congressional hearings and serve as the association’s representative dignitary.

During his inaugural address, Bryant spoke of the importance of the IAFC’s role as the leading advocate for fire and emergency service issues at the national level. He also noted that leadership is the key component in reducing and eliminating firefighter fatalities and injuries.

Bryant has served as fire chief in Oklahoma City since 2005. He started his career in the fire service in 1977 as a firefighter in the U.S. Army. During his 32-year career with the Oklahoma City Fire Department, he served in many roles, including dive team member and a critical-incident stress-management peer counselor. Bryant was promoted to district chief in 1997, the department’s chief training officer in 2000 and deputy chief of operations in 2004.

Bryant has a degree in fire science technology and is a certified EMT, hazmat technician, and fire service instructor through Oklahoma State University. He has been a member of the IAFC since 1997.

Chief Rhoda Kerr, Austin (TX) Fire Department, was sworn in during the ceremony as the IAFC’s first vice president. Chief Kerr is a fourth-generation firefighter who began her career in the fire service in 1983; she has been a member of the IAFC since 1991.

Chief John Sinclair, Kittitas Valley (WA) Fire Rescue, was sworn in as the association’s second vice president. Chief Sinclair began his career in the fire service in 1977 as a volunteer firefighter; he has been a member of the IAFC since 1992.

Chief William R. Metcalf, IAFC President 2013-2014, will continue to serve on the IAFC executive committee and board of directors as immediate past president.

The upcoming term for the new IAFC officers will formally takes effect on Saturday afternoon, at the conclusion of the Presidential Celebration Luncheon at FRI.

No posts to display