Chief Shipman Elected President

Chief Shipman Elected President

Chief Thomas H. Shipman, of the New London, Conn., Fire Department, was unanimously elected President of the New London County Fire Chiefs’ Association at a meeting of that organization held in the quarters of Pioneer Hose Company, New London, on February 1. Other officers were selected as follows:

Vice-President, Henry Parks, Noank; Treasurer, Thomas B. Woodworth, Quaker Hill and Secretary, Herbert P. White, of Groton. Chief Shipman succeeds Chief Henry R. Taft, of Norwich, who was the Association’s first President. The officers of the Association paid a splendid compliment to Chief Taft on his successful year.

Following the meeting an excellent turkey dinner was served and a fine program of entertainment brought the meeting to a close. Arrangements for the dinner were in

charge of Chief White of the Pioneer Hose Company. Several new members were admitted to the Association.

Among the guests present were representatives of several fire apparatus and equipment manufacturers.

No posts to display