Chiefs Meet at Norfolk, Conn.

Chiefs Meet at Norfolk, Conn.

Eighty members of the Litchfield County Fire Chief’s Emergency Plan met on August 8 at Norfolk, Conn. It was a home-coming meeting for the President of the Plan, Chief John H. Griffin of Norfolk.

Chief Griffin opened the meeting by calling upon Captain E. C. Farrington of Norfolk, who delivered an address of welcome to the visitors. Captain Farrington told of the efforts in Norfolk to properly equip its department and gave a brief outline of the history of the department.

Questions from the Plan’s Question Box, several of which were in relation to the proposed legislative action, were discussed at length. Among those who spoke were Chief Lynn Deming, New Milford; William O’Connor, Norfolk; Chief Cornelius Carrigan, Terry ville; John J. Doherty and Chief Don McPherson, Winsted.

Through the courtesy of the Aetna Life Insurance Company of Hartford, several reels of film were displayed showing fire apparatus responding to alarms, the proper method of turning in an alarm, and how many fires are started through the use of faulty equipment and carelessness.

Chief John H. Griffin, President of the Plan, joined the Norfolk Fire Department in 1917. He was elected Chief three years later and has held that office ever since. From 1934 to 1935 he served as President of the Connecticut State Firemen’s Association.

Following the meeting, the Norfolk firemen served refreshments. The next meeting will be held at Litchfield on September 12.

No posts to display