Fire Losses for Group Show Reduction of 2.8 Per Cent Over Previous Four-Year Period

COMPETING with approximately 300 cities, Cincinnati, Ohio, won the grand award in the 1939 Inter-Chamber Fire Waste Contest. The Cincinnati record of fire prevention accomplishments was the best among all cities that participated.

The winners were announced by the National Fire Waste Council, which in cooperation with the Chamber of Commerce of the United States, holds this annual competition in which awards are given to cities in different population classes for the best work done in fire prevention and protection. The cities are graded so that credit is given for their fire loss records, their educational activities. and their permanent improvements to eliminate fire hazards.

The winners received bronze engraved plaques at the annual meeting of the National Chamber held in Washington. The winners are:

Class I—Cities of more than 500,000 population—Milwaukee. Wis.

Class II—Cities of 250,000 to 500,000 population—Cincinnati, Ohio.

Class III—Cities of 100,000 to 250,000 population—Hartford, Conn.

Class IV—Cities of 50,000 to 100,000 population—Lakewood, Ohio.

Class V—Cities front 20,000 to 50,000 population—Parkersburg, W. Va.

Class VI—Cities under 20,000 population—Ridgewood, N. J.

The cities reporting in the Contest had a per capita fire loss of $1.41 for the year 1939 as compared with an average per capita of $1.45 for the same cities for the years 1934-1938 inclusive, a decrease of 2.8 per cent.

Winning and Honor Cities

In addition to the winners, there also was announced a list of cities receiving honorable mention for outstanding work in fire prevention and protection. The list of winning and honor cities follows:

Class I—Over 500,000 Population

Winner, Milwaukee, Wis.

Honor Cities, St. Louis. Mo.: Philadelphia, Pa.; Detroit, Mich.; Cleveland, Ohio; Boston, Mass.

Class II—Cities from 250,000 to 500,000

Winner, Cincinnati, Ohio.

Honor Cities, Memphis, Tenn.: San Antonio, Tex.: Rochester, N. Y.; Providence, R. I.; Atlanta, Ga.; Seattle, Wash.; Oakland. Cal.: Minneapolis, Minn.; St. Paul, Minn.; Louisville. Kv.

Class III—Cities from 100,000 to 250,000

Winner, Hartford, Conn.

Honor Cities, New Haven. Conn.:Springfield, Mass.; Schenectady. N. Y.; Honolulu. Hawaii; Long Beach. Cal.: Wichita, Kan.: Chattanooga. Tenn.: Utica, N. Y.; Duluth. Minn.; El Paso, Tex. and Shreveport. La., tie.

Class IV—Cities from 50,000 to 100.000

Winner, Lakewood, Ohio.

Honor Cities. Fresno. Cal.: New Rochelle, N. Y.: Roanoke, Va.: Portland. Maine; Lansing, Mich.; Evanston, Ill.; Asheville, N. C.; Racine, Wis.; Pasadena, Cal.; Davenport, Iowa.

Class V—Cities from 20,000 to 50,000

Winner, Parkersburg, W. Va.

Honor Cities, Albany, Ga.; Norristown, Pa.; Lubbock, Tex.; Pittsfield, Mass.; White Plains, N. Y.; Burlington. Iowa; Rocky Mount, N. C.: Klamath Falls, Ore.; Laredo, Tex.; Newburgh, N. Y.

Class VI—Cities under 20,000

Winner, Ridgewood, N. J.

Honor Cities, Valley City, N. D.; Salisbury, N. C.; Port Angeles, Wash.; La Porte, Ind.; Camden, Me.; Geneva, N. Y.; Morristown, N. J.; Fremont, Neb.; Ponca City, Okla.; Bozeman, Mont.

No posts to display