Cities Selected in Fire Waste Contest

Cities Selected in Fire Waste Contest

For the second consecutive year, Albany, Georgia, has beenawarded the grand prize in the Inter-Chamber Fire Waste Contest conducted by the National Fire Waste Council and the insurance department of the Chamber of Commerce of the United States. Other winners in their respective classes were Milwaukee, Huntington, W. Va., and Owensboro, Ky. The results of the 1926 competition were announced at a meeting of the National Fire Waste Council held in Washington, by the board of judges consisting of President John W. O’Leary of the National Chamber, H. A. Smith, Chairman of the insurance advisory committee of the National Chamber, George W. Booth, chairman of the contest grading committee of the National Fire Waste Council, Eugene Arms and Franklin H. Wentworth, members of the grading committee.

The accomplishments of the 1926 Contest surpass in every respect the contests of preceding years. Three hundred and three cities submitted reports, as compared with 221 during 1925, an increase of 37 per cent over the best previous record.

The honor cities in Class 1, cities of over 100,000 population in the 1926 Contest were as follows: Philadelphia, Pa., Portland, Ore., Rochester, N. Y., Detroit, Mich., New Orleans, La., Indianapolis, Ind., Fort Worth, Tex., Seattle, Wash., Grand Rapids, Mich., Wilmington, Del.

In class 2, cities of 50,000 to 100,000 population, the honor cities were: Pasadena, Cal., New Britain, Conn., Springfield,. O., Bay City, Mich., McKeesport, Pa., Bethlehem, Pa., Fresno, Cal., St. Joseph, Mo., Charleston, W. Va. and Wichita, Kan.

Class 3 honor cities, comprising those between 20,000 and 50,000 population, were: Yakima, Wash., Mansfield, 0., Battle Creek, Mich., Petersburg, Va., Uniontown, Pa., Butler, Pa.,. Baton Rouge, La., Hagerstown, Md., Lorain, O., and Riverside, Calif.

In Class 4, cities of under 20,000 population, the following cities received honorable mention: Billings, Mont., Fullerton, Cal., Laconia, N. H., Oceanside, Cal., Weston, W. Va., Torrance,. Cal., Marlow, Okla., Pekin, Ill. Fremont, Mich., Ardmore, Okla., and Blackwell, Okla.

The National Fire Waste Council authorized the Board of Judges to give honorable mention for their states to those citieswhose records, in the opinion of the Board, merited this distinction. The following cities were accordingly selected for thishonor, all having made the best record in the contest in their states.

Alexander City, Ala.

Fullerton, Calif.

New Britain, Conn.

Wilmington, Dela.

Albany, Ga.

Pekin, Ill.

Indianapolis, Ind

Winfield, Kan.

Owensboro, Ky.

New Orleans, La.

Hagerstown, Md.

North Adams. Mass.

Detroit, Mich.

St. Paul, Minn.

St. Joseph, Mo.

Billings, Mont.

Laconia, N. H.

Rochester, N. Y.

Mansfield, O.

Tulsa, Okla.

Portland, Ore.

Philadelphia, Pa.

Memphis, Tenn.

Fort Worth, Tex.

Burlington, Vt.

Petersburg, Va.

Yakima, Wash.

Huntington, W. Va.

Milwaukee, Wis.

Casper, Wy.

Eaton, Md., Makes Honorary Members for $2—A drive isbeing made among the people of Eaton, Md., to secure honorary members and incidentally the support of the public for the fire department. For two dollars, one can be made an honorary member with the privilege of attending the meetings of the department.

No posts to display