Manheim, Pa.—The Lancaster County Fire Association was formed here at a meeting of delegates from twelve fire companies of the county.

Officers of the association were elected as follows: President, H. H. Shenck, of Manheim; vice presidents, H. E. Gable, of Ephrata; H. T. Horst, Elizabethtown; M. E. Frey, Lititz; F. H. Miller, Mount Joy; secretary, Ira A. Brosey, Manheim; treasurer, Pierce Lesher, Reamstown.

A committee of five, composed of the president and the four vice-presidents, was appointed to draft a constitution for the new association, to be presented at the next meeting.

Twelve volunteer fire companies of the county were represented at the meeting, which was held in the Manheim Fire Company’s hall. Delegates present represented Hope Fire Company, Manheim; Ephrata, Reamstown, Akron, East Petersburg, Mount Joy, Elizabethtown, Lititz, and the four Columbia companies, Susquehanna, Shawnee, Vigilent and Hook and Ladder.

H. H. Shenck, president of the Manheim company presided, and after stating the object of the meeting, heard remarks from each delegate, on the proposed organization. All spoke enthusiastically about the association, and complimented the Manheim company for backing the movement. It was pointed out that the main object of the association is to mutually agree to aid anti assist each other in case of a conflagration, and to co-operate in the work of saving property and lives from fire ,

No posts to display