List of New Officers Elected for the Ensuing Year at the Annual Convention of the Dominion Association of Fire Chiefs—A Good Convention in Spite of Rather Inaccessible Meeting Place

HEREWITH are shown portraits of the officers elected for the ensuing year by the Dominion Association of Fire Chiefs at their annual convention at Calgary, Alberta, Canada, on August 19 to 22, 1919. The complete list of new officers is as follows: President, Chief Emile Berthiaume, Three Rivers, Que.; First Vice-President, Ex-Chief Thomas E. Heath, Saskatoon, Sask.; Second Vice-President, Chief Jas. Smart, Calgary, Alberta; Secretary, Chief Jas. Armstrong, Kingston, Ont.; Treasurer, Chief John E. Keyes, Galt, Ont.; Board of Directors: President, First Vice-President, Secretary, Chitf E. F. Earl, Milton, Ont.; Chief R. B. Kerr, Leamington, Ont. Auditors: Chief G. W. Baines, Moose Jaw, Sask.; Chief Win. Hardy, Lethbridge, Alberta; Chief W. A. White, Regina, Sask. Provincial Vice-Presidents. Alberta, Chief Wm. Hardy, Lethbridge; British Columbia, Chief J. F. Moffat, Vernon; Manitoba, Chief H. E. Rose, St. Vital; New Brunswick, Chief George Ackman, Moncton; Newfoundland and Prince Edward Island, Chief A. S. Stalker, Pictou, N. S.; Ontario, East, Chief A. C. Cameron. Oshawa; Ontario West, Chief W. H. Knowles, Dundas; Ontario Northwest, Chief Geo. M. Brady, North Bay; Quebec, Chief A. Tessier, Hull; Saskatchewan, Deputy Fire Commissioner F. G. Furby, Regina; Chairman of Committee on Exhibits, Chief A. S. Kappele, Stratford, Ont.

Chief James Armstrong, Kingston, Ont., SecretaryChief Emile Berthiaume, Three Rivers, Que., PresidentChief John E. Keyes, Galt, Ont, Treasurer

The convention, while, due to the rather inaccessible portion of the Dominion in which it was held, the attendance proved rather smaller than was expected, nevertheless was reckoned a success in that it enlisted a number of new members in the western part of Canada. The delegates were well received and royally entertained by the local departments, and the attendance and interest at the various sessions were very marked. It was decided to hold the next convention at St. Thomas, Ont. The various papers read at the meeting will be reproduced in the columns of FIRE AND WATER ENGINEERING in subsequent issues.

In connection with the report of Chief J. W. Graham, it was decided on report of the fire prevention committee to disband the fire prevention bureau, created last year at Toronto, and of which Chief F. S. France was the most efficient secretary. The reason for this action was that the Dominion Fire Prevention Association, under the Commission of Conservation, are entering upon such a large program of fire prevention work under the Dominion Fire Commissioner, Mr. Grove Smith, that it was felt that efforts of the association would be of more use if it were devoted to his support rather than have a small bureau of their own. It was felt that the money thus spent could be used to better advantage in other ways in assisting the membership with books of information, etc.

One of the outstanding incidents of the convention was the voting of a life membership to Miss Minnie Smart, daughter of Chief James Smart and secretary of the Calgary fire department. This, it is said, was the first and only resolution of its kind in connection with fire chiefs’ associations, and the honor was well deserved. Before leaving Calgary the members presented Chief and Mrs. Smart with a handsome cabinet of silverware and the ladies also remembered Miss Minnie Smart with some useful articles for herself.

No posts to display