Fire Officials Awarded Harvard Senior Executive Program Fellowships

Fire Officials Awarded Harvard Senior Executive Program Fellowships

Emmitsburg, Md. – The Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA)/U.S. Fire Administration (USFA), has announced that eight senior fire officials have been awarded fellowships to attend Harvard University’s annual Senior Executives in State & Local Government Program at the John F. Kennedy School of Government.

The recipients are

– Harold C. Cohen, battalion chief, Baltimore County Fire Department, Towson, Md.

– Donald L. Cox, fire chief, West Des Moines (IA) Fire Department.

– Debra J. Jarvis, fire chief, Oakbrook (IL) Fire Department.

– Rhoda Mae Kerr, deputy chief, Ft. Lauderdale (FL) Fire Department.

– Kevin McGee, division chief, Prince William County (VA) Dept. of Fire/Rescue.

– Keith B. Richter, fire chief, Contra Costa County Fire Protection District, Pleasant Hill, Calif.

– Robert I. Ridgeway, fire chief, Gastonia (NC) Fire Department.

– Douglas K. Trussler, division chief, (Ont., Canada) Fire Services.

The fellowships were awarded by the Harvard’s John F. Kennedy School of Government Admission Committee based on the recommendations of a nominating panel that included representatives from FEMA, fire service officials, and former program participants.

The National Fire Protection Association and the FEMA are funding tuition costs. The International Association of Fire Chiefs is assisting candidates with travel expenses.

No posts to display