Home Leadership Fireground Management

Fireground Management

Responding to and Preparing for Acts of Violence

February 16, 2021 at 1 PM EST / 12 PM CST / 10 AM PST / 6 PM GMT

All aspects of fire and EMS response to violent incidents are addressed in this interactive workshop: single-unit response to scenes of violence, multiunit/multiagency response to active shooter incidents, civil unrest, terrorism, hazardous materials response from intentional acts, incidents involving explosives, and suspicious packages. The instructor shares his experience as a sheriff deputy and a fire department company officer, case histories, and emergency response critiques to highlight course objectives and enhance learning. Strategy and tactics discussed provide guidelines and best practices for departments of any size or configuration.

Firefighters on scene at a fire in Chicago

Command Vitality

Maintaining vitality of command during incident operations will help ensure the safety of personnel and promote the success of the mission.
Anthony Avillo

Webcast: Command, Control, and Accountability

Join retired North Hudson (NJ) Regional Deputy Chief Anthony Avillo for a Webcast on fireground strategies for accountability.
Fire Department of New York officials communicate with the media

Be First, Be Right, Be Credible: Communicating During Emergencies

How fire departments manage the information stream can bolster your agency—or not. Dave Donohue on managing the information flow for emergency incidents.

Military Briefing Tools for the Fire Service

Jerry Knapp explains how the fire service can use military pointers to successfully conduct and receive briefings.
Mike Barakey

Critical Decision Making: The Single Most Important Predictor of Success

Point-to-point decision making allows the decision maker to identify and process problems; visualize the solution; and with tools, practice, and experience, choose the most direct line to connect the two.
Danny Sheridan

Podcast: First-Due Battalion Chief

Host Danny Sheridan is joined by FDNY Deputy Chief Frank Leeb to discuss the UL FSRI boot camp and Sheridan's article, "Evolution, Not Revolution: Urban Fire Dynamics Boot Camp."
Ricky Riley, Tony Carroll, Dan Shaw, Aaron Heller, and Stephen Shaw

Humpday Hangout: Developing Incident Commanders

In this week’s Humpday Hangout, members of Traditions Training and the ISFSI review processes and programs that agencies are using to prepare incident commanders for the role.
Fire Engineering podcasts

Podcast: In Their Own Words: Ricky Mantey

Host Joe Pronesti speaks with Ricky Mantey, who was assigned on RIT during the deadly 2013 Knights of Columbus Fire that claimed the lives of Lt. Eric Wallace and Lt. Greg Pickard of the Bryan (TX) Fire Department.
Danny Sheridan and Bobby Halton

National Fireman’s Journal: Danny Sheridan

Battalion Chief Danny Sheridan visits with Chief Bobby Halton on locating fire, knowing your people, size-up, and understanding your response area.