Foss Heads New England Association of Fire Chiefs

Foss Heads New England Association of Fire Chiefs

Photo by Lt. Edward Carroll, Brookline, Mass., official photographer

Chief Guy L. Foss, Wolfeboro, N. H., was elected president of the New England Association of Fire Chiefs at its 37th annual conference held at Wentworth-by-the-Sea on June 22-25. A total of 832 members and guests attended the event. The resignation of John W. O’Hearn as secretary-treasurer was accepted with regret by the association. Chief O’Hearn has served the organization in that capacity since its organization in 1922. Due to ill health he was unable to be present at the meeting. In a fitting tribute the delegates elected him secretary-treasurer emeritus by acclamation in recognition of his long service to the organization.

Newly elected officers of the New England Association of Fire Chiefs (front row, left to right) are: Chief A. W. Kimball, Hingham, Mass., secretary-treasurer; Chief A. T. Wright, White River Junction, Vt., second vice president; Chief G. L. Foss, Wolfeboro, N. H., president; Chief F. J. Dagon, East Hartford, Conn., first vice president; Chief G. F. Salisbury, Central Falls, R. I., immediate past president.

(Center row, left to right): State directors: Chief T. J. Collins, New Haven, Conn.; Chief N. D. Broden, Cranston, R. I.; Chief A. H. Koltonski, Rutland, Vt.; Chief R. G. Seavey, Rochester, N. H.; Chief B. S. Curran, Scituate, Mass.; Chief R. J. Frates, Bath, Me.

(Rear row, left to right): Chief W. J. Dooling, Watertown, Mass., sergeant-at-arms; Rev. M. F. Collins, Boston, Mass., chaplain; Chief Henry Thomas, ret., Hartford, Conn., technical consultant; Chiet T. H. Slaman, Wellesley, Mass., past president and acting secretary. Not present in photo are Rev. John P. Fitzsimmons, Belmont, Mass., chaplain, and A. P. Palmer, Woonsocket, R. I., press representative.

No posts to display