Friede Heads Eastern Association of Fire Chiefs

Friede Heads Eastern Association of Fire Chiefs

A heavy attendance marked the 23rd Annual Convention of the Eastern Association of Fire Chiefs held at Lake Placid, June 22 to 24 last, as chiefs congregated from Delaware, Pennsylvania, Maryland, New Jersey and New York.

Business and educational programs vied with the entertainment schedules for popularity. A high point of the latter was the Ice Show staged on the evening of the 22nd at the Olympic Arena, participated in by the nation’s leading amateur and professional figure skaters. Other entertainment included a ride up White Face Mountain and a boat trip on the Lake.

Heading the list of speakers during the business sessions were Retired Chief Harold Burke, formerly of the New York Fire Department and now with the C-O-Two Fire Equipment Company, who spoke on firemen’s training; H. E. Hilton, Executive Director, National Automatic Sprinkler & Fire Control Association, whose topic was sprinkler protection; B. Richter Townsend, Chief, Bureau of Fire Mobilization & Control, Division of Safety, New York, who spoke on modern mutual aid. Other speakers were Jim Fields, Engineer, Radio Corporation of America and J. A. McCormick, Engineer, General Electric Company, both of whom spoke on the value of radio communications in the fire service and Chief George Riley of Rosedale, N. J., whose topic was “The Volunteer Fireman.”

Special memorial services were held for the deceased members of the Association. Chief Rudolph Swanson of Jamestown, N. Y., President of the organization served as master of ceremonies at sessions, and at the banquet, held in the Hotel Marcy on the 23rd.

Officers elected for the coming year are: President, Flerbert A. F’riede, Superintendent of Communications, Washington, D. C.: First-Vice President, Chief Joseph Giammatteo, Glen Echo, Md.; Second Vice-President, Chief Ellis Wagner, York, Pa.; Treasurer, Retired Chief George Mitchell, East Orange, N. J.; Secretary, Charles E. Clark, Wayne, Pa.

Directors are: Chief George C. Arnold, Maryland: Deputy Chief Walter Buckert, New York; Chief R. J. Farley, New Jersey; Chief Frank Deen, Pennsylvania; Chief William J. Lutz. Delaware and Fire Marshal A. Roberts, District of Columbia.

No posts to display