IAFC, APCO Named Organizations of the Year

Washington, D.C. – The International Association of Fire Chiefs (IAFC) and the Association of Public-Safety Communications Officials International (APCO) have been selected by the Congressional Fire Services Institute (CFSI) as the 2006 CFSI Fire Service Organizations of the Year.

CFSI Executive Director William M. Webb said IAFC and APCO are being honored for their collective work on radio spectrum issues for the fire and emergency services. “While both organizations have made many outstanding contributions to the safety of our nation’s firefighters and rescue personnel, we are honoring your organizations for your efforts to secure additional broadcast spectrum for first responders,” said Webb. “Long before the tragic events of September 11th and long before subsequent reports and commissions raised awareness to the failures in public safety communications, your two organizations made radio interoperability a top priority.”

Webb went on to commend IAFC and APCO for being chief spokespersons and watchdogs on Capitol Hill, testifying before various committees and addressing Congressional briefings. “You have articulated our position before various federal agency officials and authored letters on behalf of public safety addressed to Congressional leadership,” Webb said.

“It has been our pleasure to work with both organizations since 1996 when the CFSI National Advisory Committee approved a resolution in support of the Public Safety Wireless Advisory Committee report. Together, we have educated many members of Congress about the importance of radio interoperability.”

The presentation of the 2006 CFSI Fire Service Organizations of the Year award will take place at the 18th Annual National Fire and Emergency Services Dinner on April 6 at the Hilton Washington in Washington, DC. For more information, visit http://www.cfsi.org.

No posts to display