Nomination Deadlines Loom for IAFC Award Programs

Less than one month remains to submit nominations for numerous national awards presented by the International Association of Fire Chiefs (IAFC). Every year at Fire-Rescue International, the IAFC honors those members of the fire and emergency services who make significant contributions to the fire and emergency service, their departments, and the communities they serve. Award details, guidelines, and nomination forms can be found online at

Deadline: May 15, 2010

The Fire & Life Safety Section award, Excellence in Fire and Life Safety, honors those who have dedicated themselves to saving lives and property through the development of codes, fire prevention practices and leadership techniques and who have served as examples to all fire preventionand fire-protection professionals.

Deadline: June 1, 2010 for each of the following awards.

The International Benjamin Franklin Fire Service Award for Valor, the IAFC’s most prestigious award, recognizes the spirit of service, courage and heroism that is a tradition among the world’s fire and emergency service. Presented annually by the IAFC and Motorola, the award honors a firefighter for his or her expert training, professional service and dedication to the duty displayed in saving a human life.

The IAFC Fire Service Award for Excellence, cosponsored by the IAFC and U.S. Safety Fire Technologies, recognizes innovations and achievements in managing resources to reduce the loss of life and property from fire and other emergencies. In today’s environment of sweeping change, here is an opportunity to recognize leaders who are turning challenges into opportunities.

The Safety, Health and Survival Section awards program gives out 4 awards that recognize leadership, individual dedication and departmental commitment:

  • Alan Brunacini Fire Service Executive Safety Award
  • Garry Briese IAFC Safety Performance Award
  • Billy Goldfeder Fire Service Organizational Safety Award
  • Safety Officer of the Year

The National Fire Fighter Near-Miss Reporting System Safety Leadership Award was established to recognize firefighters and fire departments that use the near-miss reporting system as a part of their program to prevent line-of-duty-deaths and injuries in their departments.

No posts to display