Indiana Fire Chiefs Meet

Indiana Fire Chiefs Meet

The Indiana Fire Chiefs Association held its Sixteenth Annual State Convention in the City of South Bend from September 24 to 27 with Chief Charles DeVlesschower acting as convention host.

The membership of this Association is comprised of every fire chief, assistant chief, secretary and fire prevention bureau inspector in the State of Indiana.

This year the Association awarded silver prize cups to the cities of Fort Wayne and Anderson who tied for first place in Fire Prevention Week activities, and a bronze plaque was awarded to Gas City for ranking first in the volunteer departments.

An extra fine convention program had been arranged for this year and the largest attendance in the history of the Association anticipated for the fire chiefs from the larger cities in Illinois and Michigan were invited. Clem Smith, Indiana State Fire Marshal, extended the fullest cooperation in making this annual meeting an outstanding success. The Hon. Henry F. Schricker, Governor of Indiana, for many years the Fire Chief of Knox, Ind„ headed the list of notable personages who were present.

Saturday, September 27, was a sports treat, for the fire chiefs and their guests attended the football game of Notre Dame and Arizona.

No posts to display