Indiana Instructors Elect Officers

Indiana Instructors Elect Officers

Ralph E. Ellen wood, chief instructor, Fort Wayne Fire Department, was reelected president of the Indiana Certified Fire Instructors Association during the second annual fire instructors training course held recently at Purdue University.

Ellenwood, seated in the photograph, being fitted with a helmet by (left to right) Herbert L. Dwyer, chief instructor, Indianapolis Fire Department, first vice president; Richard Templin, Jr., captain-instructor, Muncie Fire Department, second vice president; and Chief Peter Kuipers, Lafayette Fire Department, treasurer and a member, board of directors, Indiana Fire Chiefs Association.

Other officers elected by the instructors association include Charles L. Roblee, Public Safety Institute, Purdue, secretary; Robert F. Hamm, Indiana Rating Bureau, Indianapolis, chaplain, and the following directors: W. H. Crossman, Jr., Napoleon Volunteer Fire Department; George W. Tigner, Wayne Township Fire Department, Indianapolis; Walter G. Pandak, East Chicago Fire Department; Fred Koltz, Richmond Fire Department; and Ralph M. Daily, Eli Lilly and Company, Lafayette.

Thirty men were certified by Purdue at the close of the second annual training course. Certificates were presented by Professor Shelby Gallien, director of the Public Safety Institute. The course included discussions of teaching techniques, public speaking, demonstrations, visual aids, practice teaching and leadership.

No posts to display