Keystone State Association Has Golden Anniversary

Keystone State Association Has Golden Anniversary

Over 250 Pennsylvania state fire chiefs and their ladies and guests celebrated the Golden Anniversary of the Keystone State Fire Chiefs Association in Royersford, Pa., on November 17th. The host was the Friendship Fire Company of that community.

The all-day sessions began with a business meeting in the forenoon, followed by luncheon as the guests of the Friendship Fire Company, after which there was another brief business session and the memoyial services, conducted by Rev. Robert Negle.

The celebration was climaxed by a banquet for over 400 in the quarters of Friendship Fire Company. Guest speakers were Art Espy, the Cardox Corporation, who acted as toastmaster, and Chief Roi B. Woolley, Assistant Editor of FIRE ENGINEERING.

A number of membeys also spoke briefly, including Andrew R. Klein, Bryn Athyn, President, Eastern InterCounty Federation of Pennsylvania Fire Volunteers, and Mr. Jacobson Dupont, Safety expert.

The Association honored 43 of its members for their membership of 25 years or more. The oldest living member is Ex-Chief Charles E. Clark of Wayne, Pa., who has 39 years to his credit.

The Association was formed in Philadelphia on Nov. 2, by seven chiefs and former fire chiefs. Ex-Chief George S. Ricker of Philadelphia became the first president. In its first year the group listed 80 members, with 57 from Pennsylvania. Today the Association has more than 600 members from all over the State with the heaviest attendance from the Eastern section. The 43 members of 25 years of longer weye all elected for Life Membership at the business meetings.

Officers of the Association are: E. A. Robb, president, Ridley Farms, Morton; Stanley T. Moyer, 1st vice president, Hyde Park, Reading; 2nd vice president, Leonard Roberts, Trevose; Lewis M. Atkinson, recording secretary, Malvern; Joseph W. Johnston, financial secretary, Linwood; Geoyge W. Lee, treasurer, Royersford; and John Nolan, chaplain, Malveyn. Directors are Howard Frey, Harrisburg; M. Binder, Downingtown; John Manzinger, Edge Hill; Harry Astheinger, Royersford, and Earl Longstreth, Glen Mills.

Previous articleFire Service Ladders and Their Use—Part XVIII
Next articleThe ROUND TABLE

No posts to display