Maine State Chiefs Meet

Maine State Chiefs Meet

The annual meeting of the State Association of Fire Chiefs of Maine was held October 14, 1947, at Rumford, President Chief Curtis Allen of Sanford, Me., presiding.

Sessions were held in the fire station. John Grady, chairman of the Rumford Board of Public Safety welcomed the delegates and his address was responded to by Chief Ken Currie of Mars Hill.

A demonstration of fire prevention facts by Theodore Gunn of the New Hampshire Board of Fire Underwriters created much interest. Attending the demonstration in addition to the delegates were thirty-two students, two teachers from the local high school, and reporters and photographers. Following the dinner, which was attended by 84, an address on “Small Town Fire Departments” was delivered by Chief John Holden of Newington. N. H.

Officers elected for the ensuing year were: President, Chief R. S. Frates, Bath; vice-president, Z. F. Drouin, Lewiston; secretary and treasurer, R. W. Sturtevant, York Village.

No posts to display