Malmquist Tops List of Minneapolis Chief Post

Malmquist Tops List of Minneapolis Chief Post

Reynold Malmquist, District Chief of the Minneapolis Fire Department, placed first in both written and oral examination among eight candidates for the post of Chief of the Minneapolis Fire Department. The civil service examinations were the first held by the city since 1913, and were open to only District Chiefs or higher officials. Arthur Spottswood, head of the Fire Prevention Bureau, placed second in the test.

Since the retirement of Chief George S. Lockhart last November, Deputy Chiefs Walter Harrity and Charles Johnson have alternated as head of the Department. Johnson, a non-veteran of military service, did not take the test. Harrity placed seventh in the examination among the other entrants, all of whom were veterans but all of whom agreed to waive veterans’ rights. They took a six-hour written test on one day followed by an oral examination the next, given by seven examiners, among whom were Frank C. McAuliffe, Chief, Chicago Fire Patrol; Chief Paul P. Heinz, New Haven; Chief Wayne E. Swanson, Rockford, Ill., and Ex-Chief Selden R. Allen of Brookline, Mass.

Appointment of Malmquist to head the Department followed. The new Chief, a native of Minneapolis, completes his 25th year with the Department on May 20, 1950. He enlisted in the Army in 1917 and was discharged after 18 months service as a sergeant in the medical corps. He later became a farmer and attended the University of Minnesota school of agriculture. After serving as postal clerk for three years he joined the Fire Department, May 20, 1925, being third in the group that took the tests at that time. He was appointed lieutenant in 1931 after placing second in an examination. With abolishment in 1935 of the lieutenant’s post, he became a captain. In 1941 he rated first in the tests for District Chief.

His first 10 years with the Department were spent with the Rescue Squad. He was twice overcome at fires. He is past commander of the American Legion and of the Fire and Police Post. He is also president of tire Zuhrah patrol of the Shrine.

No posts to display