Medal of Valor Act awaits Presidents signature

Medal of Valor Act awaits President`s signature

The U.S. Senate passed The Public Safety Officer Medal of Valor Act (S. 39) in May. Introduced by Senator Ted Stevens (R-AK), the legislation would establish a national Medal of Honor for public safety officers. The measure (H.R. 46) was passed in the House and is now awaiting the President`s signature.

Up to 10 medals may be awarded each year. Recipients will be selected by a Medal of Valor review board comprised of 11 members appointed by members of Congress and the President. The President must appoint three members; each must have substantial experience in fire service, law enforcement, or emergency response. Nominations will be submitted to the National Medal Office. The Medal of Valor review board will recommend prospective recipients to the Attorney General. The President will make the awards.

No posts to display