Montana Firemen Hold Convention

Montana Firemen Hold Convention

Many timely papers were presented at the forty-third annual convention of the Montana State Firemen’s Association held at Dillon, Mont., July 19-21. Some of the topics follow:

“Let’s Get a State Civil Service Law Enacted,” by President Arthur L. Quinn.

“First Aid Demonstrations,” by Dr. Routledge.

“Inside a Burning Building,” Chemical demonstrations by Dean W. M. Cobleigh, Montana State College.

“Problems of the Fire Marshal,” by Neil E. Flaherty, State Fire Marshal.

“Delusion of Fire Escapes,” by Chief Henry Quane, Anaconda.

“The Relation of State Firemen to Licensed Insurance Companies.” by John J. Holmes, State Auditor and Commissioner of Insurance.

“Unity Between Paid and Volunteer Fire Departments,” by A. L. Quinn. Missoula.

“Fire and Prevention in Hotels and Schools,” by Dr. R. E. Albright, Normal School, Dillon.

“Resume of State Arson Law,” by William G. Brooks. Spokane. Wash.

“Inspections,” by Thomas Lloyd, Board of Fire Underwriters, Butte, Mont.

Frank C. McFadden. Dillon, was elected President; W. O. Matthews, Bozeman, Vice-President: D. E. Moser, Bozeman, Secretary-Treasurer; Directors, Arthur L. Quinn. Missoula; Fred Noble, Butte, and George W. Dewar, Havre.

Several automobile trips were made to points of interest, in addition to a fireman’s dance and a banquet at the Hotel Melton. The 1935 convention will be held at Kalispell.

Middleboro, Mass., voted to purchase two pumpers.

A new fire station will be erected in Schenectady, N. Y., financed by a $55,000 PWA loan and grant.

Ray Lcmoin, Fire Chief of Richmond, Cal., from 1914-1924, died at a hospital in San Leandro as the result of heart disease. A few months ago he was appointed Fire Chief of the hospital in San Leandro.

Montana Firemen Hold Convention


Montana Firemen Hold Convention

The State convention of the Montana Firemen’s Association, held in Great Falls, decided to hold the 1913 annual meeting at Miles City. Chief George Atchison, of that city, was elected president for the ensuing year. Other officers elected were: George Lapp, of Butte, treasurer; Simon Lehon. of Butte, secretary; directors. J. M. Higgins, of Hamilton; V. Steele, of Billings, and C. H. Collins, of Anaconda. Resolutions were adopted urging that steps be taken to increase the interest in the meetings and that the firemen lend their aid to legislation which will better support the office of state fire marshal in his duties. A legislative committee composed of Chief Sanger, of Butte; Chief Kennedy, of Billings, and Chief Jewell, of Great Falls, was appointed to endeavor to secure an amendment to house bill No. 13, the firemen’s disability act, which will bring into the disability fund one-half of the money obtained from a 2 per cent, levy on fire insurance companies instead of one-fourth as at present.