More Than 100 Fire Departments Earn NASFM Life Safety Awards

One hundred seventeen U.S. fire departments were awarded National Association of State Fire Marshals Fire Research and Education Foundation (NASFM Foundation) and Grinnell Mutual Reinsurance Company Life Safety Achievement Awards for their fire prevention accomplishments in 2012. The award recognizes fire departments for the positive results they achieved in protecting the lives of their citizens and emergency responders from fire, explains J. William Degnan, president of the National Association of State Fire Marshals.

To qualify for the award, fire departments must record zero fire deaths in residential structures or a 10 percent reduction of fire deaths from the prior year; demonstrate commitment to preventing residential fires in their communities through active and effective fire prevention programs; and present evidence through some department-determined measure that the department’s fire prevention efforts increased over the previous year and made a positive impact.

Departments are encouraged to apply for the Life Safety Achievement Award for its fire prevention efforts in 2013.  A list of criteria and an application for the 2013 award will be available on in the spring of 2014.

The list of 2012 Life Safety Achievement Award recipients follows:

Alabama: Adamsville Fire Department, City of Dora Fire Rescue, Cullman Fire Rescue, Springville Fire & Rescue, and Tuscaloosa Fire & Rescue Service.

Arizona: Golder Ranch Fire District, Tucson and MCAS Yuma Fire Department.

California: University of California, Irvine.

Connecticut: Cheshire Fire Department; City of Meriden Department of Fire Services; East Great Plain Volunteer Fire Co, Norwich; East Haven Fire Department; Mansfield Fire Department; Naugatuck Fire Department; Suffield Fire Department; Thomaston Volunteer Fire Department; Tolland Fire Department; and Town of Woodstock, Office of the Fire Marshal.

Florida: Casselberry Fire Rescue, Clermont Fire Department, and Immokalee Fire Control District.

Idaho: Coeur d’Alene Fire Department, Moscow Volunteer Fire Department, and Nampa Fire Department,

Illinois Countryside Fire Protection District, Vernon Hills.

Iowa: Alburnett Fire Department, Bettendorf Fire Rescue; Clive Fire Department; Deep River Volunteer Fire Co., Inc.; Grinnell Fire Department; Le Mars Fire-Rescue; Marion Fire Department; Spencer Fire Department; and West Burlington Fire Department. 

Kansas: Derby Fire & Rescue Department.

Louisiana: Grayson Volunteer Fire Department. 

Massachusetts: Bellingham Fire Department; Bridgewater Fire Department; Merrimac Fire Department;
Oxford Fire-EMS; Topsfield Fire Department; Wendell Fire Department; West Bridgewater Fire Department; and Yarmouth Fire Rescue, South Yarmouth.

Michigan: Olivet Fire Department and Tittabawassee Fire Department, Freeland.

Minnesota: Alexandria Fire Department, Brainerd Fire Department, Canby Volunteer Fire Department, Chaska Fire Department, City of Hastings Fire Department, Cloquet Area Fire District, Eden Prairie Fire Department, Farmington Fire Department, Hopkins Fire Department, Kensington Fire Department, Lake Henry Fire and Rescue, Maple Grove Fire-Rescue, Moorhead Fire Department, Roseville Fire Department, Spring Lake Park Fire Department, Waldorf Fire Department, and White Bear Lake Fire Department.

Mississippi: City of Louisville Fire Department and Columbus Fire & Rescue.

Missouri: Battlefield Fire Protection District; Bethany Fire Department; Boles Fire Protection District, Labadie; Bolivar City Fire Department; Branson Fire & Rescue; City of Republic Fire Department; Columbia Fire Department; Eureka Fire Protection District; Fort Osage Fire Protection District, Buckner
Roby Fire Department Inc.; Rock Community Fire Department, Arnold; Southern Platte Fire Protection District, Kansas City; and Sullivan Fire Protection District. 

New Hampshire: Hooksett Fire Rescue, Rochester Fire Department, and Town of Hampstead Fire Department.

New Jersey: Pennington Road Fire Company, Ewing, and Robertsville Volunteer Fire Co. #1, Morganville.

New York: Cobleskill Volunteer Fire Department; Cold Spring Fire Company No.1; Harrisville Volunteer Fire Department, Inc.; Henrietta Fire District, West Henrietta; North Creek Volunteer Fire Company, Inc.; and Webbs Mills Volunteer Fire Department, Pine City,
North Carolina: Boonville Community Fire Department; City of Henderson Fire Department; City of Mount Airy Fire Department; City of Newton Fire Department; Clemmons Fire Department, Inc.; Etowah Horse Shoe V.F.R.D., Hendersonville; Icard Township Fire and Rescue, Hildebran; Kannapolis Fire Department;
Richlands Volunteer Fire Department; Rockingham Fire Department; St. James Volunteer Fire Department, Lake Waccamaw; Wadesboro Fire Department; Wentworth Volunteer Fire Department;
West Irdell Volunteer Fire Department, Statesville; Williamston Fire / Rescue/EMS; and Wilson Fire/Rescue Services.

Ohio: Concord Township Fire Department.

South Carolina: Georgetown City Fire Department. 

Tennessee: Andersonville Volunteer Fire Department and City of Franklin Fire Department. 

Texas: Highland Village Fire Department.

Utah: Lehi Fire Department, Moab Valley Fire Protection District, South Jordan City Fire Department, and
West Valley City Fire.

Washington: Marysville Fire District.

Wisconsin: Hudson Fire Department and Sun Prairie Volunteer Fire Department.


No posts to display