National Association of State Fire Marshals Announces Election of New Officers and Directors

At its annual membership meeting in Albuquerque, July 19-21, the principal membership of the National Association of State Fire Marshals (NASFM) elected, by unanimous acclamation, four State Fire Marshals to serve two year terms on the Association’s Board, announced NASFM President H. “Butch” Browning, Louisiana State Fire Marshal.

The principal membership of the National Association of State Fire Marshals (NASFM) elected Louisiana State Fire Marshal H. “Butch” Browning to serve a second two year term as President of the association. Marshal Browning has served as President of the organization as well as in various other capacities on the Board since 2010.

“NASFM has a long history as the pre-eminent voice for increased fire and life safety,” said President Browning. “I’m honored and humbled to once again have the opportunity to serve alongside my colleagues as we steadfastly work to protect citizens, first responders and this great country.”

In addition, the NASFM membership elected as its Vice-President, Julius Halas, Florida State Fire Marshal, who has served previously as Secretary-Treasurer of the association, and has been on the Board of Directors since 2013. Gary West, Tennessee State Fire Marshal was elected as Secretary-Treasurer. Marshal West has served on the Board of Directors since 2014.

Michael Desrochers, Vermont State Fire Marshal, was elected to join sitting Board Directors Chris Connealy, Texas State Fire Marshal, Brian Geraci, Maryland State Fire Marshal, and Jim Greeson, Indiana State Fire Marshal. New Hampshire State Fire Marshal J. William Degnan serves on the Board as Immediate Past President in an advisory non-voting capacity.

“I look forward to working with this Board of Directors,” said NASFM Executive Director Jim Narva. “They are all extremely strong leaders with great ideas and an understanding of how to achieve ambitious goals.”

The Officers and Directors were sworn into their positions by Immediate Past President J. William Degnan following the conference opening ceremonies on July 19th, 2016.

No posts to display