Northwest Firemen Meet

Northwest Firemen Meet

Over four hundred firemen from several states attended the eighth annual Northwest Fire School held at Spokane, Wash., June 19-21.

Assistant Master Mechanic O’Brien, of the Seattle Fire Department, spoke to the visitors and said that there was no excuse for a wild fire hose due to too much pressure. Many other instructive talks were given.

As part of the school, a “fire show” was staged for the benefit of the local residents. According to one authority, firemen from the volunteer departments of Puyallup and Auburn, Wash., “stole the show” with their exhibition of pompier ladder work and the manner in which they scaled a five-story building. As the announcer said:

“These hoys are not getting paid for their work. They are volunteer firemen because they are fire fans and are touting on this show tor you tonight for fun.”

Various department contests were held.

During the school various state organizations held meetings, and a new division was formed. Delegates from the four northwestern states and British Columbia met to form a new northwest association. A committee was appointed to draw up a constitution and by-laws. The committee consists of Chief Swanson, Washington; Chief Stewart, British Columbia, and Chief Dutton. Washington.

At a meeting of the Washington State Firemen’s Association, the following officers were elected:

Harry S. Jenkins, Bellingham, President; William Hopes, Sedro-Woolley, First Vice-President; F. M. Wilcox. Omak, Second Vice-President; Ryle J. Fieklin, Kalamn, Secretary; C. H. Tracey, Arlington, Treasurer; Board of Directors, I., L. Burgunder. Colfax, Chairman: G. A. Creamer, Yakima; A. J. McCarthy, Puyallup; Plarl Harkins, Winlock and Mr. Bugge, Segulm.

Their next state convention will be held at Tacoma.

At the annual meeting of the British Columbia Fire Chiefs’ Association the following officers were elected:

A. A. McDonald, Trail, President; W. W. Stewart, retired Chief Victoria, Vice-President: I. H. DeGraves, First Assistant Chief, Vancouver, Secretary: W. Crawford, Fernie, Treasurer: Directors, Dave Gardiner, Powell River, and Alex Munroe, Victoria.

The selection of a place for the next convention was postponed until September, at which time a fire college of British Columbia departments will be held in Vancouver.

No posts to display