Oregon Again Holds Joint Conference

Oregon Again Holds Joint Conference

Echoes of the Roseburg, Ore., disaster were heard at the joint conference of the 500 members of the Oregon Fire Chiefs Association, the Rural Fire Districts Association and the Oregon Volunteer Firemen’s Association held June 19-22 at Seaside, Ore.

The fire fighters by resolution, requested changes in the state conflagration act to speed mechanics of the law and to effectuate a more rigid state explosive act. The proposed amendment would enable the governor to call in any fire force without formally declaring martial law. The state law was by-passed in the Roseburg disaster and it is claimed a number of responding fire departments were without legal protection in answering the appeal for help.

New officers elected by the three groups for the period 1960-1961 were as follows:

Oregon Rural Fire Protection Districts Association: President, Merle B. Gwynn, Delake RFPD No. 2, Wacoma Beach; first vice president, Glenn E. Leininger, Parkrose RFPD No. 2, second vice president, Fred O. Johnson, Canby RFPD; secretary-treasurer, Mrs. Carl R. Pfeiffer, Eugene RFPD No. 1.

Oregon Volunteer Firemen’s Association: President, Henry Lowry, Willankenzie RFPD, Eugene; first vice president, James Hall, Coos Bay; second vice president, Richard McKee, Four Corners RFPD, Salem; Secretary, Robert Waterfield, Roseburg RFPD No. 2; treasurer, Art Waelk, Four Corners, RFPD, Salem.

Oregon Fire Chiefs Association; President, Chief W. C. Ted Miller, Four Corners; first vice president, Chief Vernon Carlon, Bend; second vice president, Chief Gordon Barker, Medford; secretary, Captain Don Reinke, Salem; treasurer, Chief Ivan Pierson, McMinnville.

No posts to display