Oswego County Organized

Oswego County Organized

Oswego County, New York, is another one of the state’s counties organized under the legislative acts approved recently in that state setting up fire coordinators and fire advisory boards to direct mutual aid and training programs.

Oswego County has 22 fire departments, all tied in with mutual aid agreements. The cities of Oswego and Fulton both have paid departments, the remaining departments being volunteers. At present there are about 900 trained firemen in the county. The mutual aid system was set up by the Fire Advisory Board last October and has been operating ever since.

The officers of the Fire Advisory Board of the county, recently reappointed without change, are: J. R. Jackson of Oswego, chairman; Chief Floyd Tyler of Hannibal, secretary; Chief Claude Gates of Mexico, vice chairman, and Howard Strywing of Central Square, coordinator. Dispatchers for mutual aid are Mr. and Mrs. J. R. Jackson.

Chiefs on the Fire Advisory Board include: Floyd Tyler, Hannibal; Claude Cates, Mexico; Rowlen Beley, Parish; Robert Glohn, Cleveland; Ex-Chief Howard Strywing, Central Square; Roy Austin, Cody District Fire Department; Harold Parkhurst, Pulaski, and J. R. Jackson, the non-fireman member. Three supervisors of the county are on the auditing committee; they are: Claude Chillser, Hannibal; O. MacMatthys, Central Square and Howard Johnson of the Town of Granby.

No posts to display