Southeastern Chiefs Elect Dowling

Southeastern Chiefs Elect Dowling

Chief W. Q. Dowling, Jacksonville, Fla., was elected President of the Southeastern Association of Fire Chiefs, at the annual convention held at the Ansley Hotel, Atlanta, Ga., on May 4 and 5. The meeting was held in conjunction with the Georgia State Fire College.

Besides Chief Dowling, the officers are Chief O. J. Parker, Atlanta. Ga., First Vice-President: Chief C. M. Johnson, Knoxville, Tenn.. Second Vice-President; Chief R. S. Baughan, Norfolk, Va., re-elected Secretary-Treasurer. The new President will represent the section at the Executive Committee meeting of the I.A.F.C. at Toronto, Ont.

The following topics were presented:

“Fire Department Traffic Problems,” Chief C. H. Johnson, Knoxville, Tenn.

“Problems of Small Town Fire Departments,” Chief Floyd C. Pfaender, Winter Haven. Fla.

“Cotton Fires,” Chief V. C. Shepard, Macon, Ga.

“Harbor and Waterfront Protection.” Chief W. Q. Dowling, Jacksonville, Fla.

The State Vice-Presidents are Alabama, C. L. Ingram. Montgomery: Florida, Floyd C. Pfander, Winter Haven; Georgia, D. W. Brosnan, Albany; Kentucky, Lee Roberts, Fulton; Mississippi, Sam Bellipanium, McComb; North Carolina, Lon Duckett, Asheville; South Carolina, H. B. Wells, Newberry; Tennessee, Ross H. Bridges, Knoxville; Virginia, E. H. Rouse, Orange; West Virginia, T. A. Gilmer, Huntington.

The 1937 convention will be held at Albany, at a date to be decided later.

No posts to display