Southeastern Chiefs Elect Officers

Southeastern Chiefs Elect Officers

Fire Chief C. A. Fischer of Orangeburg, S. C., was elected president of the Southeastern Association of Fire Chiefs at the close of the association’s 32nd animal convention at Jacksonville, Fla., recently. The two-day session was attended by 162 fire fighters. Fischer succeeds Chief C. L. Cox of Durham, N. C.

Other new officers include: Chief W. S. McFadden, Wheeling, W. Va., first vice president; and Chief Earl Levy, Tallahassee, second vice president. Re-elected to office were Chief C. W. Wyrick, Greensboro, N. C., secretary-treasurer; and Chief Earl R. McDaniel, Lexington, Ky., International Association director.

Speaking at the closing session, J. Edwin Larson, state treasurer and fire marshal, told the convention Florida fire insurance rates have been declining despite the state’s tremendous growth in the past ten years. Much of the reduction, he said, can be attributed to an intensive program of fire safety and prevention.

Larson said it is unwise for a city not to provide funds necessary for adequate fire equipment. Money saved through rate reductions will offset the cost of such equipment, he emphasized.

No posts to display