The Fire Prevention Trophy

The Fire Prevention Trophy

The Pacific Coast Association of Fire Chiefs has inaugurated a competitive fire prevention contest with the purpose in view of saving human life and conserving property interests, and Thomas H. Ince, proprietor of the Ince Moving Picture Studios, has, besides producing an educational film to instruct the public as to the common fire hazards existing in the home and industrial plants, offered a silver cup to cost at least $500 to be given as a prize to the city showing the best fire prevention efficiency in the campaign which has been inaugurated. Within the cup will be placed 250 silver dollars donated by the Fire Prevention Bureau of the Pacific, of which Jay W. Stevens is manager, for the benefit of the members of the fire department of the city which succeeds in winning the prize. This contest to which all the cities and towns in the states of California, Oregon, Washington, Idaho, Montana, Utah, Nevada, Arizona and New Mexico, besides Manila and the Hawaiian Islands are eligible, is being fostered by the Pacific Coast Association. The contest began January 1, 1920, and will last until some one city has won the offered prize, the cup just mentioned, three times, not necessarily for successive years.

The rules of the contest are as follows:

  1. Any city wishing to enter must file notice with the president of the Association not later than 60 days after the first of January, 1920, or for later years not more than 60 days after the first day of July of the year they wish to enter, it being understood that the first period will extend from January 1 to June 30, 1920, the next beginning July 1, 1920, for a period of one year until 1921, and so on thereafter in one-year periods.
  2. The awards are to be made at the annual convention of the Pacific Coast Association of Fire Chiefs, and by a secret ballot of the convention. The president will appoint a committee of three members who are practical men and not competitors in the contest. The committee will select not less than three nor more than five reports to be submitted for vote of the convention. The report of the winning city is to be checked by a committee of three persons named by the president of the association to see that it is correct; if not, the prize is to go to the city submitting the second best report, which also must be checked, which checking process shall continue until a report is secured which is found to contain no misrepresentations.
  3. The prize is to be awarded to the city making the best showing in fire prevention activities during the year, which showing is to be placed before the committee in the form of a report by the fire chief of that city and based on the following activities:
  1. Reduction in losses per capita.
    1. Reduction in alarms according to population.’
    2. Actual fires.
    3. Actual.fires.
  2. Arson activities; the number of investigations, arrests, prosecutions, convictions.
  3. Public meetings held; estimated numbers present, with whom and where held.

(Continued on page 348)

The Fire Prevention Trophy

(Continued from page 329)

  1. Number of building inspections made; percentage of the city covered during the year.
  2. School work; number of meetings, supervised drills, class work, etc.
  3. Improvements in fire department and public protection, to include apparatus, water mains, hydrants, etc., during the year of competition only.

Success in securing co-operation of public officials.

Boy scout and other fire department auxiliaries organized.

  1. 10. Activities in publicity and fire prevention legislation.

Have any lives been lost or persons injured as the result of preventable fires or false alarms?

The competitive reports will be compared with each city’s record for the preceding five years. Additional prizes may be given from year to year in the form of special prizes donated by firms or individuals for the best showing made by any city in a specified state, provided announcement is made and the president of the association notified, not later than 60 days after the beginning of any award period.

Previous articleNew England Water Works Association
Next articleFire Hydrant Maintenance in Cold Weather

No posts to display